Small Business Ideas Forum

Small Business Ideas Forum (http://www.smallbusinessbrief.com/forum/index.php)
-   Questions About the Forum (http://www.smallbusinessbrief.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Setting Up Your Signature File (http://www.smallbusinessbrief.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56)

neofelis 2nd July 2004 10:52 AM

Setting Up Your Signature File
 
I've noticed that many people have developed a nice signature that they put at the bottom of each one of their posts. I have hunted around the forum tools for an easy way to do this but have not found the solution yet.

Is it an attachment (like a signature file for e-mail) or is there something that I am missing here?

--------------
Chris Roberts

Robert 2nd July 2004 11:48 AM

----------------------------------
----------------------------------
----------------------------------
----------------------------------
NOTE: The ability to create a signature file will only be available after a new member has made a few posts.

You will not see the links in these instructions until after your account has been changed.
----------------------------------
----------------------------------
----------------------------------
----------------------------------

Hi Chris,

In the navigation bar directly under the puppy at the top of the page look for the "My Settings" link. (My Settings used to be called "User CP")

Once you arrive at the My Settings page look in the left column under "Control Panel - Setting & Options".

Quote:

Important note = The following options are only available after you have posted a few times within the forum.
Click the first option "Edit Signature". This will bring you to the signature editor. Can't find it? See previous important note above this step.

Here is an example of how to create a linked signature:

[ URL=http://www.yourdomain.com]Your Website Name[/URL ] - Your description goes here.

(remove the spaces after the opening [ and after the closing ])

Here are the guidelines regarding signature files from our terms of service:

You may set up a short signature file with a limit of 3 lines of 70 characters using the default font and default settings. Some bold text may be used but please do not use bold text for your entire signature. Only two links are allowed in each signature.

Signature files may not link to any adult content. This includes bikini sites, babe of the day sites, sites with excessive profanity, etc. We reserve the right to determine what is acceptable.

No center or right justified signature files.

Signature files that do not follow our terms of service will be edited or deleted without notice.


If this isn't clear, or you need further help just let me know. :)

By the way, don't be afraid to experiment - you won't break anything. :D

neofelis 2nd July 2004 05:19 PM

Trying out the signature
 
Thanks for the help Robert - I just set it up and will see if it works for this post.

And I've broken so many Internet apps in my time that I am always careful when it comes to something new. ;)

hjgauthier 1st June 2007 06:08 AM

clickable link in my sig file
 
How do I set up a clickable link in my sig file

Robert 1st June 2007 11:43 AM

You had everything right except you had an extra period... you had "hjgauthier..com"

I've fixed it for you so you are now all set.

hjgauthier 1st June 2007 05:30 PM

Link in Sig File
 
Thanks Robert
I am giving it a try to see if it works right.
Hubert

hjgauthier 1st June 2007 05:36 PM

Link in Sig File
 
That didn't work and I am trying again.

hjgauthier 1st June 2007 05:39 PM

Link in Sig File
 
Robert,
What you did for me was a hyper link, but not to my site. I am not sure what the difference is in my "domain" and my "website name" in the example link you had in your previous post. Could you explain the difference so that I might be able to get my hyperlink in my signature to link to my web site?
thanks,
Hubert

Robert 1st June 2007 09:58 PM

Ok, I see what's happening. The domain in the url you are entering is being blocked out automatically. There are certain domains that spam us so often that we finally had to block any mention of it to stop the spammers.

Unfortunately this means you won't be able to use that url in your signature.

hjgauthier 5th June 2007 04:05 AM

Thanks, Robert, that explains a lot.

AdamG 4th July 2007 06:29 PM

Robert,

Could you have look at mine as well please.
I tried to set it out as suggested but it doesn't come up.

I've also put in my photo which should be within the limits but doesn't show up
Thanks

Logan 4th July 2007 07:29 PM

Hi Adam. Looks like your signature file is working ok.

I looked into your photo, and you had uploaded a picture for your profile - but there was not one in place for the avatar. I took the profile picture and also put it in place for your avatar.

Hopefully you should be all set now, but don't hesitate to let us know if you need help with anything else. :thumbsup2

AdamG 5th July 2007 01:31 AM

Thanks Logan:)

magbaza 1st August 2007 09:27 PM

I can not find "edit my signature"?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hjgauthier (Post 45341)
Thanks, Robert, that explains a lot.

Dear Robert,

I have found "edit &options " followed your steps , but i could not find this item of "edit my signature" there. what i could find are "edit my e-mail & pass words","edit profile", ''edit options'' all the three ones.
Can you tell me the reason?

Robert 1st August 2007 09:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ******* (Post 49199)
I have found "edit &options " followed your steps , but i could not find this item of "edit my signature" there. what i could find are "edit my e-mail & pass words","edit profile", ''edit options'' all the three ones.
Can you tell me the reason?

Some of your posts have been moderated so you won't see that option now. After you've made some posts that are approved the option will be available for you again.

bankmpi2066 3rd September 2007 07:54 PM

thanks for the info!

ningbobiz 14th September 2007 01:21 PM

good
 
good

moimc 26th December 2007 09:11 PM

Thanks Robert... I have just set it up too...

moimc 26th December 2007 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moimc (Post 59360)
Thanks Robert... I have just set it up too...

seems like it didnt work. Could you help?

Logan 26th December 2007 11:01 PM

Welcome aboard :standingw

moimc, it looks like your signature file is working ok now.

Let us know if you do need any more help!

moimc 27th December 2007 12:28 AM

Hey, thanks Logan!

rnschmidt 4th January 2008 11:37 AM

I am having problems with mine too. I am getting an error that says BB code not available. Please advise.

Logan 4th January 2008 09:29 PM

Hi rnschmidt, we did have an issue on our end. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. We fixed things, and add bb code to your signature to make sure it is working ok. You should be all set now!

Music Marketing 20th February 2008 10:31 AM

Could you check my signature Please?
 
[url=http://www.govofficials3.com] Marketing for Your Business [/URL ] - Sample Custom Radio Ads Here!

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks!

Logan 20th February 2008 02:52 PM

I've fixed it for you. There was an extra space after /URL] at the end. You probably copied it from the board here with the space. We some times have to add a space to show others how to do it otherwise the code renders into the link. The only thing needed was to take out the space here [/URL ].

grantgriffiths 20th February 2008 05:01 PM

Robert... Sorry about this, but I can not get my sig to work right.

Logan 20th February 2008 05:27 PM

No worries. We're glad to help. It looks like your signature file is working ok with the post right above this one. I think everything is ok with your signature file, so let us know if you have any more difficulty with it.

Welcome aboard :standingw

Srednarb 22nd December 2008 01:28 AM

I have the same problem I can't use my sig and there's no sig check box option when I am posting.

Logan 22nd December 2008 06:41 PM

Hi Srednarb, you have not set up your signature file yet so here is what you need to do. Up top, in the horizontal menu, there is a link "My Settings". Select that, then on the left hand menu select "Edit Signature". Enter your signature there, and then save it.

If you need any more help, just let me know!

Amir W. 27th June 2009 07:39 AM

just curious - are signature links on this forum followed, or no-followed? can people get "link juice" with their signatures? I know many forums don't allow this since it increases spammers.

Logan 27th June 2009 09:41 AM

The links are followed. We started this forum well before the nofollow tag was implemented by the search engines, so we have maintained a stance that one of the benefits of contributing (quality posts) to this forum is the exposure you receive from your signature link.

It does take us work to maintain a spam free environment, but if you contribute something that is of value to others here ... our philosophy has always been that you should receive some benefit for that contribution.

I am confident that if we keep things spam free the search engines will also continue to recognize the value in this website/community. It's all hitched on us keeping things spam free ... but if we do members will continue to provide valuable content and the search engines will continue to see it that way, regardless of the signature links. quality matters, here!

One other thing, as a member of this website you can help us keep up the quality of this website by reporting any spam that you do see. If you see someone enter posts that don't provide any value to our community or seem to be just for link spam, feel free to report it to us. It is always appreciated when we receive those reports from members.

Amir W. 27th June 2009 10:55 PM

thanks, Logan. I think the quality is evident and that's why it has been such a successful forum! lots of great info shared here.

Alan Maverick 23rd July 2009 07:51 AM

Thanks Logan, your advice has been great. I agree with Amir about this forum being really successful, it's great.

multimediocrity 13th November 2009 07:00 PM

Oops! I got in trouble for breaking a rule in the beginning. I can't remember what it was. Any chance we'll be able to add images in the near future? :)

Pine 22nd January 2010 12:15 AM

I am new, just set up my signature. Please I need some advice - Am I over doing it with my sign links? will less be more. Will one link with description be a better option.
Thanks

Logan 22nd January 2010 10:14 AM

Hi Pine, welcome aboard :standingw

There is not a right or wrong answer to that. I don't think you are overdoing it, but you have to decide if you want other text in your signature link. My suggestion, keep with what you have and take some time to see it's impact after you have been posting awhile. That will then give you a feel for what to do. It isn't just based on your signature links, but the page you are linking to and a variety of other factors. See this for the importance of various seo factors - http://www.seomoz.org/article/search...anking-factors

With that you will notice the keywords in your link text are considered one of the most important factors, while text surrounding the link does play a role but isn't typically considered to carry as much weight.

MyTownsBusiness 8th February 2010 03:41 PM

how do i get my link embedded IN my text?? (ie: I want 'My Town's Business' to be the signature, but i want it to link to my site)

Logan 8th February 2010 03:47 PM

Here is the code I switched it to for you

Code:

[url="http://www.mytownsbusiness.com" ]My Town's Business [/URL ]
I added extra spaces so it would show here

mandylee216 13th March 2010 09:49 AM

The admins here are very friendly. It would be a pleasure to check out some of their promotions here.

Some moderators will just give you a link on how to do it, but here, they post the instructions.

jadesummer9 6th April 2010 10:45 AM

Hi, I just want to give some info with regards to this, hope this "MIGHT" help you. Because i encountered this problem before. I want my link to become click-able so that whenever i will click my link it will direct me to my website. By doing some experimentation my problem was solved. What I did was I put the "http://www." followed by my website link. example http://www.mywebsite.com I always put that so in such a way my link become click-able and direct me on my site. This works well with me, hope it will work with you as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018 - Privacy